Shoot First, Ask Questions Later

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles.  If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat.  If you know the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”  -Sun Tzu, The Art of War

Advertising.  It is everywhere.  Internet, TV, News, Radio, the Bus Stop, Public Benches, Cars, Buildings, and everything imaginable in this shoot first, ask questions later world.  I guess I get a little tired of being treated like nothing more than a consumer rather than a person.  Even acts of philanthropy become an excuse to advertise.  If I was certain that a man was to visit me with the intent of doing me good then I should probably run for my very life.  Philanthropy is greatly overrated; and it is our own selfishness that overrates it.  For every ten thousand men whacking at the branches of evil there is only one who will strike at the root.  Sure, philanthropic acts are worthy of praise, but I prefer to demand justice in everyday life instead.  I don’t want the dried withered leaves of a man, or woman, to make an herbal tea.  Charity that is parched in the sun of a multitude of sins.  I want to taste the ripeness and flavor of their fruit and the aroma of their goodness; I want to breathe it in, feel it deep in my lungs, and have its juices travel through my blood and be pumped into my heart.  Benevolence that costs nothing and has taken root in the subconscious of a person is a priceless work of art like nature herself.  Drive life into a corner.  Stare it in the eyes, find the meanness of it all, and then step back and let it show you its emasculated teeth.  Then you should have no reason to fear anything, ever.  SQUAREROOTOFZERO

Leave a Reply

